Holy Discontent

| — Rev. Brandon Dirks — |

Goodbye My Brothers and Sisters

1 Comment

By: Rev. Brandon Dirks

We have finished up the conference in Russia. I am exhausted in every way possible…physically, emotionally and spiritually. But happy! I have fallen in love with my Russian brothers and sisters. I am filled with deep gratitude to represent Christ Church on this mission. I am honored that our church has had a huge hand in fulfilling our vision to heal divides…all the way in Russia…by helping them engage in covenant small groups.

IMG_1038

Final day group photo. Very emotional. About 10 had to leave and missed the photo. These are now “sent” to go and make disciples through engaging in 22 small covenant groups! Most will return next year to report on how their year went and will bring new disciples with them to be trained. Multiplication is happening! Slaba Bogo! Praise God!

IMG_1002

Sergei proudly showing off this Hope Necklace lovingly made by our Jewels of Grace group at Christ Church.

IMG_1001

More hope necklaces

russia-friday-farewells_42187961195_o

Closing session. I have NEVER experienced anything like this. Sergei brought the combined leadership team of Americans and Russians to the front and we prayed over EACH covenant group that was started last year, each leader, each person who wanted to start a covenant group this year, and each person who wanted to be in a covenant group. It was one of the most praying sessions I have ever been a part of. We prayed for about two hours. And the room was 78 degrees. And nobody left. Crazy!

russia-friday-farewells_43042167252_o

Oleg, our worship leader, LOVES his hope necklace and actually asked me for a second one.

IMG_1015

Sergei and Simon’s group. Oleg, in the orange, has started a covenant group with three men currently in prison. Amazing!

One thought on “Goodbye My Brothers and Sisters

  1. We are blessed that we had you to represent us so well! I know we will have opportunities to hear more of your experiences! Thank you!

Tell me what you think...